On Thursday 29 March, the Swansea Bay Netball League hosted its annual awards ceremony at Manor Park hotel in Clydach. Hundreds of netball players, coaches and volunteers came together to celebrate the winter league which had recently concluded.

A range of awards were presented to players whose teams had won or finished runners-up in their respective leagues. There were also individual club awards for players as well as the prestigious volunteer of the year awards.

The Swansea Bay Netball League encompasses a number of clubs from across region, including Pontardawe, Mumbles, Neath, Aberavon Celtics, Briton Ferry, Wizards, Ystrad and Treforus. It was brilliant to see so many young people from the area engaged in the sport of netball and there was plenty of appreciation from the audience for the award winners.

Hannah Pick, Wales Netball’s Netball Development Officer for Mid & West Wales was pleased with the work of the league. She said: “I would like to thank Mark Napieralla and the NPT Pass team for their work in making this year’s Swansea Bay Netball League the biggest ever.”

“New teams have taken part this year and many new players are now involved. The league continues to develop and grow and the standard this year has been the highest ever. Umpires, coaches and team managers have also developed through the league with mentoring taking place.”

“Well done to all of the players who took part.”

Wales Netball looks forward to continuing to support the Swansea Bay Netball League as it develops and goes from strength to strength.

Swansea Bay 1
Winners of the Swansea Bay Netball League “Volunteer of the Year” Awards