This weekend (Friday 4 to Sunday 6 October) Wales’ Under 21 squad will be travelling just over the border to compete in the Netball Europe U21 Open Championships at the Worcester Arena.

Wales’ young stars have been selected from clubs across the country and they will face hosts England, Scotland and Northern Ireland in three games to determine who will win the European youth championship. Coming hot on the heels of the seniors’ successes in Belfast, Wales U21s will be looking to start strongly and improve on 2018 with a squad that boasts some outstanding university and National Performance League (NPL) athletes.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Nikki Lloyd, Wales U21 head coach said: “This Under 21 group has some outstanding athletes and they have been working extremely hard.”

“They have been focused on developing clear understanding of the style of netball we want to play and they each ensure that we challenge one other both on the court and in how we apply and demonstrate our values and behaviours off it. 

“I am really proud of how far the group has come to date and myself and the management team are excited and the players are ready for their hard work and dedication to be put out on court at Netball Europe.”

This year there is no live stream available from the Under 21 competition, however Wales Netball will be providing updates and match reports from Worcester via social media and the website. Alternatively, tickets are available from host nation England here.

Wales’ U21 Netball Europe schedule:

Friday 4 OctoberScotland5pm
Saturday 5 OctoberEngland6pm
Sunday 6 OctoberNorthern Ireland10am

Wales U21 squad for Netball Europe:

Carys Allen (Cardiff Metropolitan University) Morganne Dunne (Severn Stars U21) Chloe Dyke (Cowbridge Netball Club) Nia Evans (Team Bath U19) Beca Hughes (Mold Netball Club) Georgia Jenkins (Team Bath U21) Bethan Johnson (Dinas Netball Club / Cardiff Metropolitan University) Carys Llewellyn (Cowbridge Netball Club) Eleri Michael (Team Bath Toucans / Cardiff Metropolitan University) Shona O’Dwyer (Severn Stars) Miquie Walker Jones (Central Netball Club) and Erin Williams (Manchester Thunder)